Spring Has Sprung

It has clearly been a while, because this morning I had the urge to make some soup. I enjoy making home-made soup, as it is so versatile for using things up. However I get bored of eating it very quickly, so this is where the freezer comes into its own.

I needed to use up some sadly neglected tomatoes and asparagus and also found at the back of the fridge a packet of extremely elderly radishes. How they had retained their shape rather than disintegrating to mush, I will never know. The tomatoes were too mature for slicing, so I decided to prepare what I am choosing to call a Spring Vegetable Soup.

Tomatoes, 2 punnets, roughly chopped
Radishes, halved
Asparagus, chopped
Leeks, 2 small, chopped into rings
Baby Spinach
Medium Onion, chopped
Carrot, sliced
Medium Potato, cubed
Vegetable Stock
Butter beans, small tin, drained

Soften the asparagus, leeks and radishes with a splash of water in the microwave for one minute. Soften the potato and carrot by boiling in a saucepan for 15 minutes, Then drain. Fry the onion in a little oil until soft, then add all the vegetables. Add a glug of stock so the veg won’t burn at the bottom of the pan. Cook down the veg for 5-10 minutes, to get the juice out of the tomatoes, then season. Liquidise the veg mixture, together with the butter beans, to get the desired consistency.
Image
I liquidised until it was mostly smooth, but with the odd crunch to it, so it didn’t resemble baby food. I had considered adding some chilli flakes or tabasco sauce, but it was so tasty, I didn’t bother.
Image
Coke can included for size

In addition to the bowlful seen above, this is how much soup these portions made, about 1750g or 7 small portions. Most of this is heading for my freezer!

Leave a Reply

