Hello Fresh Food

I mentioned in a previous post that I was going to order a Hello Fresh box, and today I can report on the results of the first meal. You receive all the ingredients, apart from olive oil, butter, salt & pepper, plus the recipe card. I decided to start with this one of the three meals in the box:

IMG_0032

The recipe was pretty easy to follow and, within 25 minutes, I had this to show for it (plus another portion in the fridge for lunch tomorrow):

IMG_0035

I would not have thought of frying seasoned asparagus, and it tasted spectacular. I diverged a little from the recipe, by letting it cook off in some lemon juice towards the end of its cooking time. I also didn’t scoop out the seeds from the tomatoes, as instructed by the recipe, so I expect my meal was slightlier soggier than intended. The asparagus packed a flavour punch, and the feta and tomatoes were lovely with the lemon zest and toasted almonds. I felt the pretty bland couscous let it down a bit; perhaps the idea was to offset the other flavours, but if I make it again, I will put something in with the couscous while it soaks.

I also think it would be useful if the recipes included some information upfront about the utensils used. I have a fully stocked kitchen, but does someone less practised necessarily own a lemon zester? I also practically filled the (slim) dishwasher with the number of pans used.

If this has whetted your appetite, I have a promotional code which will get you money off your first box (and get me money off too!): TP79FL.

3 thoughts on “Hello Fresh Food

  1. EAT ALL FRESH

    This is great, buying fresh food and making food at home. I am a big fan of fresh food and love to see recipes which people create using fresh ingredients. Would love to see some more fresh recipes:)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Hello Fresh – recipe two review | rubydecade

  3. Pingback: Hello Fresh II: The Recipe Box Strikes Back | rubydecade

Leave a Reply

