Have You Any Scents?

Whilst dipping my toe into the make-up universe, I have also been sampling the delights of other aspects of the beauty world. I have bought so many scented candles, my bathroom smells like a bordello (even without any lit), and I have hugely increased the number of perfumes I own. I don’t have a particularly good sense of smell (I blame sinus problems), but just occasionally something comes along that knocks my socks off. And I am pleased to announce that last week, I was bowled over by a fragrance in a way that I haven’t been since I discovered Jean Paul Gaultier’s Classique in my early twenties.

I bought a rollerball of perfume oil of Diptyque’s L’Ombre dans l’Eau (from Space NK, £32 for 7.5ml), which my GCSE French tells me means Shadow in the Water. I already had some things from Nars in my shopping basket, and was checking if there was anything else I fancied when I came across this description “a blend of traditional, antique roses and blackcurrants through a unique formula”, and I was sold. I was not prepared, though, for how much I was going to love this scent. It’s very heady, definitely what you would call an evening scent (although I won’t let that stop me wearing it in the daytime!).

IMG_0049 IMG_0050

Needless to say, my next Space NK order will include some eau de toilette, so I am not restricted to dainty dabs. At least, when I’m feeling rich enough, it will be. Parfumo International describes it as:

  • Top notes: Black currant leaf
  • Heart notes: May rose, Black currant seed
  • Base notes: Amber, Musk

Which I think is about right. I have just been reading some reviews of this perfume, and it goes to show how defective my nose is. “Green” is not a word I would use in connection with this scent. Oh well. If you are passing by a stockist in the near future, go and have a sniff, and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

