Mac Cosmetics Splurge

As is often the case, a little email telling me a product I’ve been waiting to come back into stock is an excuse for buying not just that, but a few other things as well. I would blame the “free delivery” minimum (in Mac’s case £30), but that would be a lie. It’s all me.

When I was last in a Mac stockists, I fell in love with a pinky colour (which is rare for me) called Mehr (which I’m still struggling to pronounce; my instinct is to go Germanic, but I have a horrible feeling it comes out of my mouth sounding more like “meh”, which is a very drab sound for a pretty colour – a quick internet search tells me it means “More” in German, so that’s something new I’ve learned today), but they didn’t have any in stock.

So I had a little pootle around on the website, looking at their new collections. Some of the Alluring Aquatic lipsticks tempted me, but most were already sold out, and the only other thing I liked was a nail varnish. Neither was I wowed by Studio Sculpt. However I was intrigued by a number of Patentpolish lip pencil shades, and jumped right in, and added just one additional shade – Shadowy Lady – to my ever-expanding eye shadow palette.

So here is my exciting new delivery (together with free gift, a sample of Zoom Fast Black Lash mascara).

IMG_0051

Here are the products, individually.

IMG_0060

Mac Eye Shadow in Shadowy Lady, described as blackened plum (£10 for 1.5g palette refill, £12.50 in its own case).

IMG_0055

Mac Alluring Aquatic Nail Lacquer in Shimmerfish (£10 for 10ml).

IMG_0054

Mac Matte Lipstick in Mehr (£15 for 3g). So you can see what it looks like on:

2014_05_03 Lips Au Naturel2014_05_03 Lipstick Mac Matte Lipstick Mehr

Left to right: My lips au naturel (i.e. bare) and with Mehr. I apologise for the cropped pictures, by the way. It comes from a combination of bad hair day with the fact that on Tuesday I fell down some steps so I’m protecting you from the trauma of my bruised and scabbed face (or protecting myself from sharing them with the interweb for all time).

IMG_0056IMG_0059

Top right to bottom left: Mac Patent Polish Lip Pencils in Innocent, Revved Up & Sultana (£14.50 each – 2.3g).

And here they are, on. In the same order, but you could have worked that out for yourself, I bet.

2014_05_03 Lipstick Mac Patentpolish Innocent

2014_05_03 Lipstick Mac Patentpolish Revved Up

2014_05_03 Lipstick Mac Patentpolish Sultana

The lip pencils come in twelve different colours, but seem to be selling quickly (checking today, I notice Innocent is already sold out). I just picked the ones I fancied trying, and I like them all, although Innocent is very difficult to see. I like how glossy they are, without being sticky. I can’t speak to staying power, as I’ve only just received them, but will update you if I have strong views either way.

Which are your favourite colours from the Patent Polish range, and are you just as much a sucker as I am for filling your shopping basket up?

 

 

 

One thought on “Mac Cosmetics Splurge

  1. whatsasssays

    Ooh, I love those lip colours! The sultana shade is absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I love all things mac a little bit too much!
    Sass x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

